Static Caravan Owners Advice Forum | Sales | Rental | Sublet

About Supporting Members FUP (Please Read) The GoStatic Reference Hub
Go Back   Static Caravan Owners Advice Forum | Sales | Rental | Sublet > GoStatic University > Owning A Caravan

Owning A Caravan Discussion about owning a caravan.

Old 16-03-2020, 09:37

Question Boiler On or Off

As I'm new to static ownership this is a bit of a head scratcher for me. I'm also a building services engineer where we push and drive for the most efficient buildings possible.

When we leave the caravan for a few weeks should I leave the boiler/heating on? The caravan, a Willeby Linwood 2019, has CH and each radiator has a TRV, thermostatic radiator valve. We set these to the frost symbol so they will open up if there is a cold snap but this is only useful if the boiler is actually on.

When I was about to leave last week I had left the boiler on and all the radiators set to frost protection but as I closed the door I noticed the boiler pumping out condensation, I.E. it was heating something up. It could of been doing a condensate dump being a condensing boiler but the way I normal see them work on a passive system like this they monitor the temperature of the water inside the boiler and if that falls below a certain temperature the boiler fires up and heats up to the correct temperature. With no outside controls telling the boiler something different it doesn't know any better. I am presuming it is not reading any information from the CH pump saying that it shouldn't fire up as there is no water movement.

This then means that the boiler, if left on, would just continue to cycle on and off the entire time we were not there and waste gas/money.