Static Caravan Owners Advice Forum | Sales | Rental | Sublet

 

About Supporting Members FUP (Please Read) The GoStatic Reference Hub
Go Back   Static Caravan Owners Advice Forum | Sales | Rental | Sublet > GoStatic University > Owning A Caravan

Owning A Caravan Discussion about owning a caravan.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 18-04-2010, 13:48
jules66 jules66 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 176
Default Sky tv in a caravan

Hi all, We are looking at getting a dish for our van so that we can access sky sports, has any-one done this? If you already have sky at home is there a way to do this without having to pay for your subscription twice? It's been suggested that if we got a dish and a cable and brought our sky box from home that we would be able to access all the channels that we can from home.

It would be a pain to keep having to connect/disconnect each weekend, but worth it I think. I'm going to ring sky this week for the official line but any one any hints/tips/advice?
Thanks
Reply With Quote

  #2  
Old 18-04-2010, 20:59
Darren's Avatar
Darren Darren is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: No where (at the moment)
Posts: 1,790
Default

Hi Jules,

I have only ever had sky either at the van or at home never both (i don't think) so can't offer any advice but similar questions have been asked on here before so they may be of help.

Darrren

http://www.gostatic.co.uk/showthread.php?t=778 is one of the most replied to
__________________
Have you had good advice from the forum? If yes why not become a GoStatic Supporter to say thanks and help the forum keep online. Click Here


Follow us on Twitter (Info)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 18-04-2010, 22:26
jules66 jules66 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 176
Default

Thanks Darren....will have a read
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 19-04-2010, 09:58
G4Shallow G4Shallow is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 20
Send a message via AIM to G4Shallow
Default

How spooky, I was just going to ask a similar question. We have been quoted 180 for installation of a std box, dish and 12 months warranty with a Freeview card. Seems expensive to me but I don't know anyone else who can do it.

He also stated that if we have the new white card we would probably be able to bring that card with us and it would work as Sky had not currently blocked them from working like the old card - anyone know if this is true?
__________________
Proud owner of a 2007 Atlas Solara 3 Bedroom. Our first Caravan
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 19-04-2010, 10:56
mirkwood mirkwood is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 115
Default

easy , get a dish fitted to your van then take your box and card with you , remember if you have a hd box the dish must be a hd compatable,
by the way the card is registerd to box, so if you get another box your card wont work in it, well youll get most programmes but not sky sports
__________________
[
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 19-04-2010, 12:22
jules66 jules66 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 176
Default

Thanks for your replies..... had another thought.......we have the standard package at home with sky sports, if we were to upgrade at home to sky mulirooom, we get a new sky box with a new card presumably? Could we then take that new box complete with card to the van and be able to watch skysports?

I know the multiroom subscription is 10, but don't know if this would include the skysports. We wouldn't mind paying 10 a month more....going to ring sky now to get the "official" view
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 19-04-2010, 14:26
jules66 jules66 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 176
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jules66 View Post
Thanks for your replies..... had another thought.......we have the standard package at home with sky sports, if we were to upgrade at home to sky mulirooom, we get a new sky box with a new card presumably? Could we then take that new box complete with card to the van and be able to watch skysports?

I know the multiroom subscription is 10, but don't know if this would include the skysports. We wouldn't mind paying 10 a month more....going to ring sky now to get the "official" view

Hmmm, not got through to sky yet but on their website re multi room it says "Please note that the additional box will have to be connected to a working telephone line - this is to verify that all the boxes are being used at the same address"

I know my current box isn't connected to a phone line as the connection is loose and nothing has ever been said or no problems have so far occured...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-05-2010, 17:52
stellabelly stellabelly is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Seacroft Holiday Estate, Trusthorpe near Sutton-on-Sea
Posts: 24
Default

I think the issue with the phone line is for new contracts, but if in doubt, use the new box at home and take your original to the van. Personally I wouldn't bother with multi room, just take your box with you. You can get adaptors on eBay to save you keep screwing and unscrewing connectors, they just push on. I "scrounged" a dish and fitted it to my existing tv arial bracket on the van, bought a new quad LNB for sky+ 6, a meter for lining up the dish 7, both from eBay and a few mtrs of twin cable from local supplier, took me about an hour to fix and run cable, (plenty of ways in for cable under floor into a cupboard). A tv arial installer should only charge about 40 to do it for you if you're not confident with having a go.

Hope this helps, Graham

PS: I have spare scart and power lead in place at the van
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-05-2010, 19:42
JillyJane JillyJane is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 41
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jules66 View Post
Hmmm, not got through to sky yet but on their website re multi room it says "Please note that the additional box will have to be connected to a working telephone line - this is to verify that all the boxes are being used at the same address"

I know my current box isn't connected to a phone line as the connection is loose and nothing has ever been said or no problems have so far occured...
Sorry wrong thread

Last edited by JillyJane; 03-05-2010 at 19:45. Reason: in error oooooops
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-05-2010, 20:05
jules66 jules66 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 176
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stellabelly View Post
I think the issue with the phone line is for new contracts, but if in doubt, use the new box at home and take your original to the van. Personally I wouldn't bother with multi room, just take your box with you. You can get adaptors on eBay to save you keep screwing and unscrewing connectors, they just push on. I "scrounged" a dish and fitted it to my existing tv arial bracket on the van, bought a new quad LNB for sky+ 6, a meter for lining up the dish 7, both from eBay and a few mtrs of twin cable from local supplier, took me about an hour to fix and run cable, (plenty of ways in for cable under floor into a cupboard). A tv arial installer should only charge about 40 to do it for you if you're not confident with having a go.

Hope this helps, Graham

PS: I have spare scart and power lead in place at the van
Thanks Graham......
We've got a couple of other things connected to the sky box, so we just feel it would be a bit fiddly (and lazy I know!) to take the skybox each weekend. The main fiddly bit is that we have a sender unit transmitting the signal to other tv's in the house and we'd have to set that up again each time, which can be a pain. If we thought the multiroom would work, we'd be happy to pay 10 a month.....
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

West Coast Windows


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sky tv again Neil Entertainment 32 02-07-2015 19:54
Sky TV Firefly Entertainment 7 03-03-2015 15:05
Caravan show on Sky 212 Oct21st at 19.30 golazzo General Discussion 7 22-10-2013 12:17
Sky in caravan Karen11048 Owning A Caravan 25 07-04-2011 22:04
How do i get Sky tv in my van? cavendish1 Buying A Static Caravan 8 25-03-2010 21:10


All times are GMT. The time now is 18:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.