Static Caravan Owners Advice Forum | Sales | Rental | Sublet

About Supporting Members FUP (Please Read) The GoStatic Reference Hub
Go Back   Static Caravan Owners Advice Forum | Sales | Rental | Sublet > GoStatic University > Owning A Caravan

Owning A Caravan Discussion about owning a caravan.

Old 08-05-2017, 17:17
Supporting Member

Default Ants in your pants.....

Well not quite....

We got to our van (2013 Swift Moselle 2 bedroom) on Friday and noticed 1 or 2 small ants around the fridge and in bedroom. This is extremely annoying as we honestly gut it when we leave every weekend, every surfaced wiped with dettol spray, I hoover top to bottom during the stay and just before we leave and mop all floors so can't understand why we have ants.

Can anyone suggest any tips to get rid as it gives me the boak!

Thanks as always

Old 08-05-2017, 17:52
Supporting Member

Hope you get that sorted to your satisfaction.
I'm no expert but worth a check under the van and treating any suspect areas with one of the many ant/insect powders or sprays, paying particular attention to the areas underneath floor vents and inlet/outlet pipes.
Good luck with it. That would "give me the boak" too 😬
Old 08-05-2017, 21:03

Be careful when using ant "killer" traps. They often work by having the ants take the poison back to their nest. In order to do this, they first have to attract the ants to the poison.
Somebody did this after seeing a few ants, put the poison down, which then attracted every ant in the area, and a few wandering ants turned into a procession of a few thousand - took over a week to stop....
Ants scout around - it is what they do - and unless there is something to attract them, the odd one or two won't turn in to a regular stream.
Old 08-05-2017, 22:28
Supporting Member