Static Caravan Owners Advice Forum | Sales | Rental | Sublet

 

About Supporting Members FUP (Please Read) The GoStatic Reference Hub
Go Back   Static Caravan Owners Advice Forum | Sales | Rental | Sublet > GoStatic University > Owning A Caravan > Technical Issues

Technical Issues A place to ask and/or give advice on technical issues

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 31-03-2018, 20:18
Awins Awins is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 28
Default Satellite TV

As it is almost impossible to receive a terrestrial TV signal, can anyone recommend a satellite system that I can install.
Cheers Alan
Reply With Quote

  #2  
Old 31-03-2018, 21:04
slattster slattster is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 401
Default

Freesat , just get a local installer to put you up a dish and buy a Freesat set top box , should cost about £100 altogether , you then get basically the same channels as free view
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 31-03-2018, 23:47
Cylon's Avatar
Cylon Cylon is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 1,266
Default

^Agree with the above, that's what I ended up having to do
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-04-2018, 07:35
BungalowBel's Avatar
BungalowBel BungalowBel is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Prenteg, Porthmadog, North Wales
Posts: 33
Default

We inherited a Freesat set-up when we bought the 'van. I too can recommend it.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-04-2018, 10:29
Mosquito Mosquito is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Fold House Park, Pilling , Lancashire.
Posts: 1,520
Default

On our park, we can receive terrestrial TV signal by either aerial or satellite. I didn't realize that on some parks you can't get a signal from an aerial. Should it not be standard wherever you are?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-04-2018, 10:48
rainbow's Avatar
rainbow rainbow is offline
Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Ullswater
Posts: 891
Default

I would echo previous posts re Freesat, it works well for us. So much so, we have done away with Sky TV at home and now use Freesat .
I should add, that if you want, you can buy a Freesat box which has an inbuilt recorder, much the same idea as Sky.
The system works seamlessly with a fitted Sky dish for anyone who already has one.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-04-2018, 11:19
HazeyBlue HazeyBlue is offline
Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Coquetdale, Northumberland
Posts: 47
Default

We have freesat in our van. It is great, but I do miss my documentary channels when we are there. I wish they did some of those on freesat.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-04-2018, 15:12
rainbow's Avatar
rainbow rainbow is offline
Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Ullswater
Posts: 891
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HazeyBlue View Post
We have freesat in our van. It is great, but I do miss my documentary channels when we are there. I wish they did some of those on freesat.
I would agree with you on that one HazeyBlue, but sadly, the clue is in the name FREE so I guess we canít complain.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-04-2018, 11:46
HazeyBlue HazeyBlue is offline
Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Coquetdale, Northumberland
Posts: 47
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rainbow View Post
I would agree with you on that one HazeyBlue, but sadly, the clue is in the name FREE so I guess we canít complain.
Yes that is true Rainbow I think my husband was expecting History, Discovery and National Geographic. Ermmm, I dont think so. Although we do have Virgin at home and I think you can download stuff on their ap and take it away so might try and see if we can do that.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-04-2018, 16:31
Mosquito Mosquito is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Fold House Park, Pilling , Lancashire.
Posts: 1,520
Default

We have freeview in our lodge with the addition of a BT box which allows us to record and we also have an Amazon Fire box. Both work well.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

West Coast Windows


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TV with narrow stand or wall mount 40" ish tv? ched999uk Owning A Caravan 8 04-03-2016 12:56
Satellite Broadband?? Pen16 Technical Issues 36 19-03-2015 09:16
Fixing a satellite dish to caravan Grayo Technical Issues 23 11-03-2015 21:15
Can I have a satellite dish up - please? niknak1962 General Discussion 9 12-09-2012 11:22
Satellite Dish paulw Owning A Caravan 8 18-04-2012 14:59


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.