Static Caravan Owners Advice Forum | Sales | Rental | Sublet

 

About Supporting Members FUP (Please Read) The GoStatic Reference Hub
Go Back   Static Caravan Owners Advice Forum | Sales | Rental | Sublet > The Lounge > General Discussion > Entertainment

Entertainment Chat about anything to do with Entertainment including music, films, TV etc

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 08-02-2014, 19:46
Maddy's Avatar
Maddy Maddy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Cotswold Water Park
Posts: 3,190
Default

Then its different to our free one which has no on demand unless joined up ( I tested it today and it said your connection to the router has been lost)
__________________
Maddy

Good friends are hard to find, difficult to leave and impossible to forget.
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 08-02-2014, 21:54
RRRob RRRob is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 710
Default

So basically its seems like its just a standard Freeview HD DVR with Talk Talk branding? I have a Humax Freeview HD DVR & a Humax Freesat HD DVR & both can be hooked up to get all the services you describe via a router.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-02-2014, 22:39
Cylon's Avatar
Cylon Cylon is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 1,240
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RRRob View Post
So basically its seems like its just a standard Freeview HD DVR with Talk Talk branding? I have a Humax Freeview HD DVR & a Humax Freesat HD DVR & both can be hooked up to get all the services you describe via a router.
I've got a feeling that the one Lakeside21 has is a YOUVIEW box made by Huawei and as far as I was aware, needed a connection to a router for Catch Up TV. If it's installed by a TalkTalk engineer, it may not be obvious they have done this and also possibly connect wirelessly? Another method is using Powerline Adapters, you are still using your internet connection, but the signal needed goes through your power cables / ring main instead. Link below: Link was working, but sometimes slow loading.

http://help2.talktalk.co.uk/setup-su...rline-adapters

Last edited by Cylon; 08-02-2014 at 23:16.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-02-2014, 12:47
Lakeside21's Avatar
Lakeside21 Lakeside21 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Lakeside at Cotswolds Water Park, Gloucestershire
Posts: 358
Default

Hi All,
Sorry for the concern that I appear to be causing with this posting which is perhaps due to my lack of knowledge of such matters and so being unable to explain the system properly. I can confirm that what Cyclon says is correct in that what I have is a Huawei TalkTalk box, model DN370T, which is the one that TalkTalk has recently been delivering to TalkTalk subscribers. It was connected by myself, not engineers, and has no modem connection.
Neither does it have a yellow ethernet cable, just a standard 3 pin plug into the mains and an aerial connection.
Perhaps the easiest way of resolving this and confirming my ‘system’ will be to turn off and disconnect my modem completely and then try the TV, and Demand. This I shall try and do tomorrow and make a further post as I definitely wouldn’t want anyone going out and buying a box on my sayso only to find that it won’t work for them.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-02-2014, 13:35
Maddy's Avatar
Maddy Maddy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Cotswold Water Park
Posts: 3,190
Default

I've thought about this all night and decided the catch up has to work in the way red button does. Still can't see how movies would work though. We effectively use our old sky box as a free to air box but can't see anything we pay for at home. Our talktalk box is the DN360T so presumably not as good as ours despite talktalk saying it's worth £149.
Despite being very close to Lakeside we can't even watch television through our aerial with a booster and a new aerial! so I will be sticking with the satellite.
__________________
Maddy

Good friends are hard to find, difficult to leave and impossible to forget.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 09-02-2014, 13:35
treetopper treetopper is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Treetops
Posts: 5,831
Question

Wonder if Trevor63 has contacted his site re the Fibre Optic query...
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 10-02-2014, 17:26
Lakeside21's Avatar
Lakeside21 Lakeside21 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Lakeside at Cotswolds Water Park, Gloucestershire
Posts: 358
Default

:Sorry folks and apologies to Maddy. Itís hands up from me as Iíve got it wrong. It is NOT possible for us to use the Ďdemandí feature on my TalkTalk Box when the modem is turned off so itís of no use to Trevor for catch-up or demand TV. Seems son-in-law has also fitted something to enable my wife to send print matters direct to office printer from her laptop, possibly what Cyclon describes as a Powerline Adaptor.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 10-02-2014, 17:46
Cylon's Avatar
Cylon Cylon is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 1,240
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lakeside21 View Post
:Sorry folks and apologies to Maddy. Itís hands up from me as Iíve got it wrong. It is NOT possible for us to use the Ďdemandí feature on my TalkTalk Box when the modem is turned off so itís of no use to Trevor for catch-up or demand TV. Seems son-in-law has also fitted something to enable my wife to send print matters direct to office printer from her laptop, possibly what Cyclon describes as a Powerline Adaptor.
Thanks for the feedback Lakeside, must admit it had me going for a bit, even to the point of trying to prove you right . I now know more about TalkTalk boxes than I ever did, but all an education IMO

Enjoy your TV Lakeside and hope you are getting to grips with your new toy.

Enjoy

Cylon
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 10-02-2014, 18:31
Maddy's Avatar
Maddy Maddy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Cotswold Water Park
Posts: 3,190
Default

please send your son in law along to me 'cos I can't get my printer to work wirelessly and have to email my stuff downstairs1
__________________
Maddy

Good friends are hard to find, difficult to leave and impossible to forget.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 10-02-2014, 19:00
Lakeside21's Avatar
Lakeside21 Lakeside21 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Lakeside at Cotswolds Water Park, Gloucestershire
Posts: 358
Default

Sorry Maddy, but he's off for a week's skiing and in any case you'd have to get in the queue as he's yet to fix my wife's lap-top wi-fi as she still can't use the printer remotely, like yourself!) and has to send her emails to me to do it for her. The only difference between your problem and hers is that she has to email it upstairs to me rather than downstairs like yourself!
Someones sure to tell me that there's an easier way to do this but whilst waiting it works for us and doesn't much stress and that's the main thing at my age.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

West Coast Windows


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Let's talk Decking! Angela B Owning A Caravan 71 07-05-2017 15:50
TV with narrow stand or wall mount 40" ish tv? ched999uk Owning A Caravan 8 04-03-2016 13:56
Help! - TV JenGlasgow Owning A Caravan 17 21-08-2012 21:20


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.