Static Caravan Owners Advice Forum | Sales | Rental | Sublet

 

About Supporting Members FUP (Please Read) The GoStatic Reference Hub
Go Back   Static Caravan Owners Advice Forum | Sales | Rental | Sublet > GoStatic University > Buying A Static Caravan

Buying A Static Caravan Advice for those about to purchase a static caravan.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 26-03-2013, 19:54
Funkyboy Funkyboy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 150
Default What electric supply?

Hi guys,


Is there anything I should consider around electric power supply when considering a park? Iíve heard different things around wattage and ampage What should I look for?

Thanks
Reply With Quote

  #2  
Old 26-03-2013, 20:00
bassetman's Avatar
bassetman bassetman is offline
Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Triangle wood Tyn y Morfa settled cushdee
Posts: 316
Default

Now now funky boy your changing subject we want to know did you grab that bargain willerby Winchester ????? Please do tellI know just had to ask
__________________
Regards Mark (Ruled by Gill, 2 Bassets and a fruit loop Dally)
"In the car, off to the van -Job done, nice
Proud owner of an ATLAS SAGITTARIUS 2010 40x12.5 in environmental green
OUR VAN: http://s1296.beta.photobucket.com/us...t-man/library/
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 26-03-2013, 20:10
Funkyboy Funkyboy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 150
Default

Yes looks like we have deal! Very pleased we are just doting the I's....My wife asked what the power supply was and they said 10 amps this sounded a bit low to me so i just wanted to check. Dont know if they meant the touring pitches as wouldnt 10 amps trip all the time if you had a couple of appliances on the go?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 26-03-2013, 20:25
treetopper treetopper is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Treetops
Posts: 5,905
Default

Here's a thread with good info
http://www.gostatic.co.uk/showthread...&highlight=amp

Would suggest 10A is very low...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 26-03-2013, 20:30
Holgate001 Holgate001 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 17
Default Site Power Limit

Hi

On our site the limit is 15amps which is just a few amps more than one 3kw kettle. We don't find it a problem with a bit of thought. We have a list of appliance loads on the inside of a kitchen cupboard so it's easy to check loading.

Roll on summer.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 26-03-2013, 20:32
Tiamaria589's Avatar
Tiamaria589 Tiamaria589 is offline
Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 8,518
Default

I am not sure what mine is.. how would i find out?
do i need to know?
i have never had a problem yet.... and there has been times( when the girls have been at the van!).. when the kettle, a few sets of hair straighteners, hair dryer, cd player....shower..... etc etc... have all been on at the same time....
__________________
ruled by....one beautiful granddaughter, 2 kids, 3 cats and 1 hubby

NEVER REGRET ANYTHING THAT MADE YOU SMILE
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 26-03-2013, 20:49
Holgate001 Holgate001 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 17
Default Site Power Limit

Hi
We were told by the site manager when we bought the van about seven year ago. From what you say you don't appear to have anything to worry about. If ours trips its a reset in a box outside the van and a job for the site to reset it.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 26-03-2013, 21:26
RRRob RRRob is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 723
Default

Ours is 17 amps so that means if I am running my 2Kw fan heater with the flame effect fire & a kettle, I can get away with it, but turn on the microwave at the same time and it trips the circuit breaker. As Holgate says, it just takes a bit of thought. 10 amps is rather low for a static caravan though. When mine trips, I just reset it myself although it rarely happens.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 26-03-2013, 21:27
Maddy's Avatar
Maddy Maddy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Cotswold Water Park
Posts: 3,230
Default

10 amps is low for a tourer let alone a static. It means you have to be careful about heaters toasters kettles microwave anything that takes a thirteen amp fuse.
__________________
Maddy

Good friends are hard to find, difficult to leave and impossible to forget.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 26-03-2013, 21:41
treetopper treetopper is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Treetops
Posts: 5,905
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maddy View Post
10 amps is low for a tourer let alone a static. It means you have to be careful about heaters toasters kettles microwave anything that takes a thirteen amp fuse.
Might be wrong but is it low as some sites the electric is in with the fees
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

West Coast Windows


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Water supply pipe insulation/heat trace? ched999uk Technical Issues 7 23-09-2016 21:18
Electrical supply gspleo Before Owning A Caravan 34 03-06-2016 06:57
Electricity supply coltheplumb Technical Issues 5 02-04-2015 00:56
Electric Off Chrissy52 General Discussion 13 01-09-2013 15:41
Water supply neilg81 Technical Issues 2 16-06-2013 16:28


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:28.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.