Static Caravan Owners Advice Forum | Sales | Rental | Sublet

About Supporting Members FUP (Please Read) The GoStatic Reference Hub
Go Back   Static Caravan Owners Advice Forum | Sales | Rental | Sublet > GoStatic University > Before Owning A Caravan

Before Owning A Caravan Discussion and advice on all aspects involved in deciding if a static caravan is right for you.

Old 18-03-2013, 19:26

Default Static as temporary home - off site.

Hi,
I'm new to all this, so please excuse any Statics or forum faux-pas!

I'm sure you've heard this all before, but a search of your site hasn't furnished me with the answers I need, so I'm going to ask away in the hopes that someone will enlighten me...

We own a derelict house that we're going to be renovating (starting whenever the planning is finally sorted!) and have permission from the council to site a static there to live in during the works.

Short of a few holidays in statics I have no experience of them whatsoever, and am not sure where to start. I dare say that we'll end up with whatever comes up on ebay (or similar) for the right budget, and that we can't be too picky, though that doesn't really matter - it's preferable to being homeless!

I really have no idea how we sort out the connection of the van (it's not really a van, is it?!) to the services - water, sewerage, electric, gas, phone... Anyone who can clear up the mess in my mind about turning a box into a home will be eternally loved.

I'm sure I will have a hundred questions as time progresses, but for now the connections are my main concern.

Thanks in advance, Rachel.

Old 18-03-2013, 19:32

Hi Rachel and a warm welcome to the forum from us. Not bad within 5 minutes is it? Sorry we can't help with your query as we're fairly new to statics ourselves but I'm sure that you're not the first to ask such questions but you need our Angela to point you in the right direction for previous topics on the forum. Best of luck!
Old 18-03-2013, 19:52