SPONSOR: Static Caravan Insurance
Static Caravan Owners Advice Forum | Sales | Rental | Sublet

About Supporting Members FUP (Please Read) The GoStatic Reference Hub
Go Back   Static Caravan Owners Advice Forum | Sales | Rental | Sublet > GoStatic University > Before Owning A Caravan

Before Owning A Caravan Discussion and advice on all aspects involved in deciding if a static caravan is right for you.

Old 02-02-2012, 07:24 PM

Default Central heating or Electric!?!?

Hi,

Newbie here, I'm looking at purchasing a static and living in while starting a new build. What I want to know is:- Does there have to be mains gas on the new build site for a centrally heated caravan or can it run off a gas bottle? If it can run off a bottle how long will a bottle last on average.. or is electric a better option all round? All replys will be of great help!

Thank you!!

Old 02-02-2012, 07:33 PM

Hi, most if not all caravns run on LPG in cylinders or even on sites that are piped its LPG.
I think it will depend on what van you get as if its got a boiler it will run on LPG as far as I know.
As for how long will a cylinder last depends on if your in it in the winter or just the summer ?? Winter with weather like we have now I recon about a week
Old 02-02-2012, 08:45 PM

Cheers for that.. It could be a long term thing.. So I would have thought we will be in the caravan through the summer into next winter.. perhaps electric would be better then. Otherwise the gas would cost of small fortune!!
Old 02-02-2012, 08:51 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by mattie76 View Post
Cheers for that.. It could be a long term thing.. So I would have thought we will be in the caravan through the summer into next winter.. perhaps electric would be better then. Otherwise the gas would cost of small fortune!!
Like I said I think you will have to have gas for central heating (if van has it??) as that won't work on electric
Old 14-03-2012, 01:14 PM